Tasmanian Derby

The Tasmanian Derby 2018 runs on Tasmanian Derby Day on the 9th of February 2018 at Hobart Racecourse. It is a Listed, 2200m race with an increased prize pool of $150,000.

Australia is host to some of the world’s most famous and lucrative thoroughbred racing events. The majority of the country’s best black type races are held in Melbourne and Sydney, although great race meetings are held right across the nation including Tasmania. Tasmania is not as well known for its racing as other states as it holds no Group 1 or 2 events. However, events like the Group 3 Hobart Cup and the Group 3 Tasmanian Derby are still highly regarded in the racing industry and attract a huge number of punters and spectators to the Hobart and Launceston racecourses each summer.

The Tasmanian Derby is held at the end of January/early February in Hobart and is a 2200m staying event for three-year-olds at set weights. Offering prize money of around $200 000 it is the third richest race in Tasmania and the premier three-year-olds race at the carnival. For betters wanting to get in on the action of this quality race, there are a number of good lead-up events held earlier on in the Tasmanian Summer Racing Carnival that have proved to be helpful guides in recent years. Races to watch include the listed Hobart Guineas (2100m) held a fortnight before and the Tasmanian Guineas (1600m) another listed even for three-year-olds at set weights.

The Tasmanian Derby is a huge attraction for local gallopers and although a few interstate entries make the trip in the hopes of a Derby success, the race is more for handy types than the elite three-year-olds. Sponsored by Cadbury, colts and geldings have dominated the Tasmanian Derby and the 2009 winner Betwixt was the first mare to claim victory in the Derby in over three decades.

Tasman’s Isle was the winner of the inaugural race in 1915 when the event was a principal race run over ten furlongs. The race distance was increased to 12 furlongs in 1924 and there was a lengthy gap from 1934-1947 when the Tasmanian Derby was not held. Just before this period the race length went back down to the original ten furlongs in 1933, but when the event resumed in 1948 the distance was again 12 furlongs. The race was cancelled again in 1958 and 1959, and in 1960 the distance was 10 furlongs up until 1966 when it was increased again to 12 furlongs. The race was also not held in 1963. In 1973 with Australia’s adoption of the metric system the length of the Tasmanian Derby was converted to 2380m, and it reached Group 3 status in 1980. In 1990 the distance was increased to 2400m. For one year in 2002 the length went back down to 2380. After two runnings at 2400m again in 2005 the distance dropped to 2100m. The following year in 2006 the length was set at 2200m and has remained the same right up to today.

As one of the most anticipated and high status group races held in the state, the Tasmanian Derby is a prime opportunity for punters to get fired up and place a wager on a terrific event. Online bookmakers in Australia offer an excellent range of betting options, so make sure to check out the odds for the Tasmanian Derby at the next Tasmanian Summer Racing Carnival.

Upcoming Races

Group 1

The Goodwood





Group 1

Doomben Cup




3YO & Up WFA

Group 1

Queensland Oaks


Eagle Farm



Group 1

Queensland Derby


Eagle Farm



Group 1

Stradbroke Handicap


Eagle Farm



Group 1

The TJ Smith


Eagle Farm



Race Information on the Tasmanian Derby:

When: Late January/Early February (3 Feb 2017)

Where: Hobart Racecourse

Race Length: 2200m

Race Status: Group 3

Race Conditions: 3YO Open – Set Weights

Stakes: $100,000

Inaugurated: 1915

Tasmanian Derby Recent Winners & Results:

Year – Winner – Runner-Up – Third – Winner’s Time

2012 Tasmanian Derby Winner – TBA

2011 – Mourinho, Heez Born Lucky, Jay Bee’s Gee Gee – 2.18.49

2010 – Gee Gees Blackflash, Kinnersley, Coulis (NZ) – 2.17.51

2009 – Betwixt, Reprisal, Brunello – 2:21.4

2008 – Mega Boss, Arazamataz, Dream Peddlar – 2:21.4

2007 – Currigee, Miniba, Rhumb Line –¬† 2:20.6

2006 – Esterel, Pride Of Westbury, Jeune Cheval – 2:18.0

2005 – Phantom Thief, Stuyvesent, Expunge – 2:11.2

2004 – Almost Never, Little Baldy, Uma King – 2:36.6

2003 – Dream Quest, Irish Noble, Birle’s Gamble – 2:31.9

2002 – Moonah Brooke, Our Bullbaa, Marette – 2:31.1

2001 Party Boy Us And Maka Jones 2:32.7

1999 Father Floyd Fitzroy Fitzroy Yuppie 2:29.7

1998 Suavity Bohemiath Flying Swallow 2:30.5

1997 Ventura Prince Baracus Maximal 2:31.7

1996 Devon Sun Sunny Lane Nutcracker Suite 2:32.6

1995 Napier Street Loch Valley Vaudeville Piper 2:34.4

1994 Ashley Grove Arranger Star Dancing Cossack 2:34.9

1993 Pax-A-Million Ritzy Red Golden Serpent 2:30.2

1992 Charleston Party Baron Samedi Party Game 2:29.7

1991 My Latin Boy Haron Bay Devon Blaze 2:29.7

1990 King Of Belmont Drumming Sonny Bumpus 2:32.6

1989 Bar Landy Sydeston Sistino 2:29.9

1988 Firetap Dashing Kiwi Mountain Gamble 2:30.0

The Melbourne Cup Spring Carnival is the biggest week in Australian racing including marquee races: Victoria Derby, Melbourne Cup, Crown Oaks and Emirates Stakes.